Wednesday, January 18, 2012

More imaginary liner notes for VDP

My imaginary liner notes for Van Dyke Parks’s latest singles are now available for your reading pleasure at Bananastan Records. The music — “Black Gold” b/w “Aquarium,” with art by Frank Holmes, and “Amazing Graces” b/w “Hold Back Time,” with art by Charles Ray — is terrific. “Black Gold,” a ballad of environmental catastrophe, is, to my ears, one for the ages. You can sample 1:30 of its 6:21 at iTunes.

I’m honored to have my writing be part of VDP’s singles project.

Related reading
All Van Dyke Parks posts (via Pinboard)

[The abbreviation “b/w” is from the previous century, the world of records: “backed with.”]

comments: 0